Foil Odyssey – Bigger Wing

img_0003

While I was purchasing a new Hoverglide foil it, the awesome Oahu Slingshot dealer, Jeff at Offdalip, told me about a guy at my work in Kauai, Jon, that was also learning prone foiling – that is paddling into a wave on a surfboard with a mounted foil.   Prices had dropped big time on foil kits, and right I was purchasing a Slingshot aluminum kitesurf foil ($900 delivered) with extra 24″ mast, I figured this was a pretty solid modular
system.  So Jon and I headed out on the boat to try some more tow training.

We tried my setup first – hoverglide attached to 7’4″ fish.  We both struggled.  We switched out to his foil Cloud IX S24 surf foil attached to 7’4″ fish, and he was getting good long rides on foil.  I was starting to get to hang of it as well.  We could be going a few mph slower with the boat, and the bigger wing also was much more stable.  So next big lesson: big wings are better for learning.

Soon after I dropped another $500 on a carbon fiber 84cm Slingshot Infinity front wing, the saving grace was that it just bolted onto the hoverglide system I already had.  But if you you’re keeping tabs I was now at about $1700 invested in just the foil kits.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started